Visit IAAF special preview page
Nov 26 - Dec 8, 2019
Visit IAAF special preview page
Visit IAAF special preview page

Al Wakrah, Al Arabi to play in Asian Club Championship

The two sides will attempt to become the fifth team from Qatar to win the title and qualify for the 2020 IHF Super Globe tournament.
Qatar League Champions Al Wakrah Will Be Keen To Extend Their Supremacy At Home To The Continent As Well
Qatar League champions Al Wakrah will be keen to extend their supremacy at home to the continent as well. Photo: Qatar Handball Association

Reigning Qatar League champions Al Wakrah and defending Emir’s Cup winners Al Arabi will represent the country at the 22nd Asian Club Handball Championship starting in Samcheok, South Korea, on Thursday.

Al Arabi Will Be Looking To Do Well At The Asian Championship In South Korea
Al Arabi will be looking to do well at the Asian Championship in South Korea. Photo: Al Arabi Club website


  • Group A
  • Al Arabi (QAT)
  • Zagros (IRA)
  • Al Kuwait (KUW)
  • SK Hawks (KOR)
  • Al Sharjah (UAE)
  • Al Wakrah (QAT)
  • Foolad (IRN)
  • Al Arabi (KUW)
  • Al Wehda (KSA)
  • Barbar (BRN)
  • Oman Club (OMA)

The competition will bring together 11 teams from the continent. Arabi will open their Group A match against Iran’s Zagros on Friday before playing Kuwait’s Al Kuwait (November 10), South Korea’s SK Hawks (November 11) and the UAE’s Al Sharjah (November 13).

Wakrah, placed in Group B, will start their campaign with a game against Iran’s Foolad on November 7. Their other matches are against Kuwait’s Al Arabi (November 8), Saudi Arabia’s Al Wehda (November 10), Bahrain’s Barbar (November 11) and Oman’s Oman Club (November 13).

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semifinals.

Four Qatari clubs have won the Asian title so far, with Al Sadd (five) being the most successful. Al Duhail and El Jaish (two each) and Al Rayyan (one) are the other winners.

The Asian Club champions will represent the continent at the 2020 IHF Super Globe, scheduled to be held in Saudi Arabia.