Visit IAAF special preview page
Nov 26 - Dec 8, 2019
Visit IAAF special preview page
Visit IAAF special preview page

Guidi, De Jesus splash to first gold medals

Italian triumphs in the men’s race in a dramatic sprint finish, Brazilian champ dominates women’s event.
Competitors Take Off In The 5km Open Water Swimming Race At The Katara Beach 1
Competitors take off in the 5km Open Water swimming race at the Katara Beach. Photo: David Aliaga/Laurel Photo Services

Italy’s Marcello Guidi and Brazil’s Ana de Jesus Soares became the first gold medallists of the inaugural ANOC World Beach Games, winning the Open Water swimming events at the Katara Beach on Sunday.

While Guidi won the men’s 5km event in 55min 25sec, Brazil’s world champion De Jesus Soares dominated the women’s field (59:51).


1. Marcello Guidi (ITA)55min 25sec
2. Denis Adeev (RUS)55:26
3. Soeren Meissner (GER)55:28
1. Ana de Jesus Soares (BRA)59:51
2. Yawen Hou (CHN)59:52
3. Leonie Beck (GER)59:53

With just 40M left in the men’s four-lap race, Guidi and Russia’s Denis Adeev (55:26) passed Germany’s Soeren Meissner (55:28) in a sprint to the gold. Giudi then edged ahead to notch an excellent win.

It was his first international medal and he was pleased.

“I’m very happy because this’s my first-ever gold in an international race. I’ve concluded my season with a superb result, and I’m more confident than ever before. I sprinted the final 40M, and that gave me the title. It was an important result for me,” said Guidi.

There was no such drama in the women’s race. De Jesus Soares, the Pan American 10km open race champion, took the lead early and never relinquished it.

“When you race, you know you don’t have space when you feel the touch of others at your feet. Today, I didn’t feel that, and I knew I’d some space for the finish,” she said.

China’s Yawen Hou (59:52) and Germany’s Leonie Beck (59:53) finished second and third respectively.

Yawen Hou, Ana De Jesus Soares And Leonie Beck, From Left, With The Women 5km Open Water Swimming Medals
Yawen Hou, Ana de Jesus Soares and Leonie Beck, from left, with the women’s 5km Open Water swimming medals. Photo: David Aliaga/Laurel Photo Services
Mens Winners Of The Open Water 5km Swim, From Left, Denis Adeev, Marcello Guidi And Soeren Meissn Display Their Medals On The Podium
Men’s winners of the Open Water 5km swim, from left, Denis Adeev, Marcello Guidi and Soeren Meissner, display their medals on the podium. Photo: David Aliaga/Laurel Photo Services