Visit IAAF special preview page
Nov 26 - Dec 8, 2019
Visit IAAF special preview page
Visit IAAF special preview page

Morozov, Campbell clinch overall individual titles

Australian Campbell, Hungary's Katinka Hosszu and American Michael Andrew steal show on the FINA World Cup’s closing day.
Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu races to gold in the 100M butterfly final in Doha. Photo: Qatar Swimming Association Media

There were some sensational performances on the third day of the FINA World Cup in Doha as curtains came down on the 2019-20 series in spectacular fashion.

While Russia’s Vladimir Morozov clinched the men’s overall title with 333 points, Australian Cate Campbell triumphed in the women’s category with 357.

Australia emerged the most successful team in Doha, with six gold, ten silver and six bronze medals while Hungary (six, four, seven) and Russia (four, two, one) rounded off the top three.

Campbell and Hungarian Katinka Hosszu took their gold medal tally in Doha to four apiece and emerged the most successful competitors of the series.

Medals Table

Country G S B
Australia 6 10 6
Hungary 6 4 7
Russia 4 2 1
Japan 3 3 2
Netherlands 2 2 1
Brazil 2 2 0
USA 2 1 1
Lithuania 2 0 0
South Africa 2 0 0
Denmark 1 1 0
USA’s Michael Andrew exults after winning the 50M butterfly final. Photo: Qatar Swimming Association Media

The Australian shone brightly on the final day, finishing first in the 100M freestyle and later clinching the 4x100M mixed medley title for her team. She had earlier won the 50M freestyle and 4x100M mixed relays.

Campbell won the 100M freestyle in 52.61sec, ahead of her sister Bronte (53.37) and Sweden’s Michelle Coleman (53.39). She then sparkled in her team’s victory in the relay in 3:46.77, with Chinese Taipei (3:56.07) and Poland (3:56.11) finishing second and third.

Cate did not hide her delight.

“This tour was tough, but the crowd support made it all worthwhile. It was a fantastic World Cup tour, and I’m pleased to win the overall title. I’ll remember this for a long time,” she said.

Hosszu, swimming in the fifth lane, posted her second-fastest time ever to clinch 100M butterfly gold in 58.19, in front of Denmark’s Jeanette Ottesen (58.52) and Hungarian Zsuzsanna Jakabos (59.30).

She then returned to the pool a few minutes later to take the 200M individual medley title in 2:09.89. The ‘Iron Lady’ of international swimming was pleased with both her times and performances.

“The first race was spectacularly fast, while the second was satisfying. I enjoyed my return to Doha and couldn’t have ended the FINA World Cup any better,” said Hosszu, who finished overall second with 312 points.

After two misses on the first two days, American Michael Andrew finally hit form in exquisite style, winning two titles — 50M butterfly (22.94) and 100M backstroke (54.07).

“These are two of the best times of my season, and I’m thrilled. I didn’t even have time to go to the bathroom after the first final, so I just took a deep breath and did what I had to do. But this is how it’s usually for me, so I’m used to it,” said the 20-year-old, fighting to catch his breath.

While Andrew finished ahead of Hungary’s Szebasztian Szabo (23.34) and Finland’s Riku Poytakivi (23.60) in the 50M butterfly, he proved to be better than Australia’s Bradley Woodward (54.66) and Japan’s Keita Suma (54.95) in the 100M backstroke.

Two Hungarians had been engaged in a brutal swim to the finish in the evening’s first race — men’s 400M individual medley. Balazs Hollo, trailing his compatriot David Verraszto until the final 50M, surged ahead in the last freestyle lap to finish in 4:15.17.

“I knew I’d have my chance in the final 50M, so I conserved my energy. In the end, it proved to be a personal best for me. I’m even happier to have gotten a Hungarian one-two in the race,” he said.

Russia’s Vladimir Morozov and Australia’s Cate Campbell celebrate with the overall title as Qatar Swimming Association President Khaleel Al Jabir, right, and former General Secretary Ali Al Jabir applaud. Photo: Qatar Swimming Association Media

Slovakia’s Tjasa Oder (8:34.65) won the women’s 800M final in almost clinical fashion, and in the process won her first-ever FINA World Cup gold medal.

“It’s my fastest time of the season, but I know I’ve still got a lot to improve. I’ll now fly to a high-altitude training camp in Turkey to prepare for the European Short Course Championships in Glasgow in December,” she said.

Australia’s Emily Seebohm finally ended her gold medal drought in Doha by claiming the 200M backstroke gold. She triumphed in 2:08.54, just two-hundredths of a second faster than compatriot Kaylee McKeown (2:08.56) and Austria’s Lena Grabowski (2:11.31).

Brazil’s Jhennifer Conceicao was an easy winner in the women’s 50M breaststroke in 30.93secs.

Meanwhile, there was drama in men’s 200M breaststroke when Russia’s Anton Chupkov (2:08.37) touched the wall marginally faster than the Netherlands’s Arno Kamminga (2:08.39). Japan’s Yasuhiro Koseki was further behind in 2:08.66.

“It was a great race, and Arno pushed me to the end of my limits. It’s good to win again,” said the Russian.

Lithuania’s Danas Rapsys added the 200M freestyle title (1:45.50) to his 400M gold in the same discipline. He thus made a clean sweep of all seven gold medals on offer, over seven World Cup stops.


  • MEN
  • 1. Michael Andrew (USA) 22.94; 2. Szebasztian Szabo (HUN) 23.34; 3. Riku Poytakivi (FIN) 23.60
  • 1. Michael Andrew (USA) 54.07; 2. Bradley Woodward (AUS) 54.66; 3. Keita Suma (JPN) 54.95;
  • 1. Anton Chupkov (RUS) 2:08.37; 2. Arno Kamminga (NED) 2:08.39; 3. Yasuhiro Koseki (JPN) 2:08.66
  • 1. Danas Rapsys (LTU) 1:45.50; 2. Alexander Graham (AUS) 1:47.23; 3. Antonio Djakovic (SUI) 1:48.71
  • 1. Balazs Hollo (HUN) 4:15.17; 2. David Verrazsto (HUN) 4:15.46; 3. Patrick Staber (AUT) 4:16.03
  • 1. Jhennifer Conceicao (BRA) 30.93; 2. Weronika Hallmann (POL) 32.02; 3. Emily Seebohm (AUS) 32.03
  • 1. Katinka Hosszu (HUN) 58.19; 2. Jeanette Ottesen (DEN) 58.52; 3. Zsuzsanna Jakabos (HUN) 59.30
  • 1. Cate Campbell (AUS) 52.61; 2. Bronte Campbell (AUS) 53.37; 3. Michelle Coleman (SWE) 53.39
  • 1. Emily Seebohm (AUS) 2:08.54; 2. Kaylee McKeown (AUS) 2:08.56; 3. Lena Grabowski (AUT) 2:11.31
  • 1. Tjasa Oder (SLO) 8:34.65; 2. Yukimi Moriyama (JPN) 8:37.25; 3. Marlene Kahler (AUT) 8:37.79
  • 1. Australia 3:46.77; 2. Chinese Taipei 3:56.07; 3. Poland 3:56.11